About DAEE

In 2008, representatives from environmental organizations and providers recognized the need for an environmental education association.

Our mission is to “promote environmental and outdoor education to facilitate positive community impacts on the conservation and sustainability of Delaware’s resources.” Using the environment as a basis for study can improve student achievement, reduce behavioral problems, and connect students and adults to tangible, real-world topics.

A 501(c)(3) organization, DAEE is governed by a Board of 10-20 Directors, elected to two-year, staggered terms, to ensure consistent leadership:

Chair: Lisa Watt, DNREC – Delaware State Parks
Vice-Chair: Angel Burns, DNREC – Children in Nature
Treasurer: Ashley Peebles, Delaware Forest Service
Co-Treasurer: Trish Gerken, Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Secretary: Rick Mickowski, New Castle County Conservation District

Jennifer Bowman
Austin Conley, Delaware Museum of Natural History
Dean Goodwin, Tatnall School
Lindsay Lancaster, Healthy Foods for Healthy Kids
Claire Mickletz, DNREC – Delaware State Parks
Cathleen Perrotto, Delaware Museum of Natural History
Christopher Petrone, Delaware Sea Grant / Univ. of Delaware
Maggie Pletta, DNREC – Delaware National Estuarine Research Reserve
David Pragoff, Delaware Nature Society

DAEE is the official state affiliate of the North American Association for Environmental Education (NAAEE).

Click here to read our quarterly newsletter.